Becoming Matthew

Posted: August 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

Yo!

 

So this is the launch of Becoming Matthew. That would be me, by the way.* Becoming Matthew is designed for two things:

  • Firstly, as a platform to frankly and openly discuss my experiences as a transgender guy. When I came out, a lot of people on various forums were suddenly messaging me and wanting some input and advice on their own journeys into the weird and wonderful world of not-being-cisgender. So this is it. This is what it is like for one girl to become one guy. It’s not universal. There are some things I will deal with that most transguys won’t, and vice versa, some things I get to go ‘lalala, not listening!’ that’s a huge deal for them. But there are also some things we do all share, and those things are important for others to understand.
  • And secondly, to educate the LGBT fiction community. When I get into discussions with other authors about writing more transgender characters, it’s usually a no. Why not? Because they don’t want to get it wrong. Well, you pretty much can’t. Transgender folk are just as diverse as any other gender identity or sexual orientation. Let’s start challenging that shying away from transgender characters, and get their stories out there too.

 

This blog will also run on input from other people. If you want to ask questions, ask them. If you want specific topics discussed, tell me. If you want to guest post, drop me a line. If you have a transgender story, let’s hear about it. If it’s your transgender story, even better!

 

So let’s get this show on the road, guys.

 

Matt x

 

 

*In the interests of stalkerdom: Matthew is a pseudonym. Randomly finding transmen called Matthew in the south-west is not a great idea. Don’t do it.

Comments
  1. Tanya says:

    Congrats and thank you for making this blog. I want to understand more about this process (didn’t I leave a status like this once? Jeebus!) I’m looking forward to the trip with you, as it were. Bah. Such bullshit I write. But I’m here with you, babe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

